The Board of Trustees

Centre College is controlled by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees. The trustees are divided into six annual classes of not more than six persons. The presiding officer of the Board of Trustees is the chair of the Board, elected annually. The president of the College is the executive officer of the Board and the chief executive officer of the College.

Officers of the Board of Trustees

Mark E. Nunnelly: Chair of the Board

James C. Seabury, III: Vice Chair of the Board

Crit Luallen: Secretary of the Board

John A. Roush: President of the College

Yvonne York Morley: Assistant Secretary of the Board


Class Of 2019

Benjamin J. Beaton

Squire Patton Boggs

Cincinnati, Ohio


William S. Bowmer III
Managing Director, Lincoln International, LLC

Palo Alto, California

Robert L. Elliott

Partner, Houlihan Elliott Hinkle Dispute Resolution, PLLC, Retired

Georgetown, Kentucky

G. Watts Humphrey Jr.

President, GWH Holdings, Inc., Retired

Harrodsburg, Kentucky

Tao Le


Elizabethtown, Kentucky

Brian Mefford

Executive Director, Office of Entrepreneurship, Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development

Alvaton, Kentucky

Class Of 2020

Jess Correll

President and Chairman, First Southern Bancorp, Inc.

Stanford, Kentucky

Craig M. Hille
Managing Director, Juggernaut Capital Partners
Cabin John, Maryland

Lea Stromire Johnson

Attorney, Moore and VanAllen

Charlotte, North Carolina

Daryll W. Martin

President, Percipient Resources, Inc.

Pittsboro, North Carolina

Thomas H. Meeker

President and CEO, Churchill Downs Inc., Retired

Louisville, Kentucky

Kevin D. Taylor

Madison, Wisconsin

Class Of 2021

Thomas R. Baeker

Owner and Founder, Ambrabev, LLC

Danville, Kentucky

Jennie Peaslack Carlson
Executive Vice President/Chief Human Resources Officer, U.S. Bank, Retired
Edina, Minnesota

Crit Luallen

Former Lieutenant Governor, Commonwealth of Kentucky

Frankfort, Kentucky

John H. Newman

Senior Partner, Sidley Austin LLP, Retired

Naples, Florida

James C. Seabury, III

CEO, Enterprise Solutions

Nashville, Tennessee

James A. Smith

Innovation Consultant

Saint Charles, Illinois

Class Of 2022

Greg W. Caudill

CEO, Farmers National Bank

Danville, Kentucky

Paul W. Chellgren

Operating Partner, Snow Phipps Group, LLC

Villa Hills, Kentucky

Barb Emler

Physician and Pediatric Dentist

Lexington, Kentucky

Beth P. Klein
Officer, Klein Family Foundation
Louisville, Kentucky

Jeffrey L. Mackin

President, Interlock Industries, Inc.

Prospect, Kentucky

Eddy Roberts Jr.

State President, Bell South, Retired

Louisville, Kentucky

Class Of 2023

John R. Barton
Lexington, Kentucky

Rutheford B. Campbell
Professor of Law, University of Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky

Sandra Frazier
CEO/Managing Member, Tandem Public Relations
Louisville, Kentucky

Mark E. Nunnelly

Director of MASS IT and Special Advisor to the Governor for Technology and Innovation
Dover, Massachusetts

Peggy Purdom Patterson
U.S. Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court Eastern District of Kentucky, Retired
Prospect, Kentucky

George W. Privett, Jr.
Physician, Retired
Lexington, Kentucky

Class Of 2024

Anita M. Britton

Attorney, Britton Johnson, PLLC

Versailles, Kentucky

Sheila A. Burks

Corporate Counsel, OFS Fitel, LLC

Alpharetta, Georgia


Angie M. Evans

Manager, Corporate Responsibility, LG&E and KU Energy, LLC

Louisville, Kentucky

Kenneth J. Mardick

President, M3 Resources USA

Birmingham, Alabama

T. Richard Riney
Executive Vice President, CAO and General Counsel, Ventas, Inc.
Louisville, Kentucky

Lee D. Tatum

Senior Executive, Brown-Forman Corp.

Anchorage, Kentucky

Life Trustees

Robert T. Brockman
CEO and Chairman, The Reynolds and Reynolds Company
Houston, Texas


J. David Grissom

Chairman, Mayfair Capital

Louisville, Kentucky

Randal B. Kell
President and CEO, The Mark Winkler Company
Annapolis, Maryland

Nelson D. Rodes Jr.

Chairman of the Board, Farmers National Bank of Danville, Retired

Danville, Kentucky

Trustees Emeriti

Joanne K. Duncan

Inez, Kentucky

Richard L. Frymire

Madisonville, Kentucky

Elizabeth T. Kennan

Danville, Kentucky

John W. Landrum

Harrodsburg, Kentucky

Charles J. Luellen

Austin, Texas

Joseph H. Patterson

Charlotte, North Carolina

Lillian H. Press

Lexington, Kentucky

James M. Ratcliffe

Louisville, Kentucky

James L. Rogers, III

Vero Beach, Florida

James D. Rouse

Versailles, Kentucky

Jane L. Stevenson

Owensboro, Kentucky

Margaret A. Stroup

Melbourne, Florida